South Zone won the sixth BCL title

1 min read

South Zone became the champion of Bangladesh Cricket League (BCL) for the sixth time after defeating Central Zone. They won by an innings and 33 runs on Sadman Islam’s century.

Batting in the first innings, South Zone announced the innings with 500 runs for 5 wickets. Sadman, who was left out of the Test team, played an innings of 246 runs. Besides, Marshall Ayub played an innings of 120 runs.

In reply, Central Zone were all out for 230 runs in the first innings. Zakir Hossain, who scored a century on his Test debut for the team, scored 53 runs. They were bowled out for 237 runs in the second innings due to the follow-on. Haider scored 77 and Sharifullah 63 in the second innings.

With this, South Zone has become the champion six times in the last ten seasons of BCL. They won the title in 2013-14 season. The next season also became the champion. Then the team won consecutive titles in 2017-18, 2018-19 and 2019-20 seasons. Although Central Zone won the title last season, South Zone became the champion again this time.

Sadman Islam has batted the most 674 minutes for the country on the way to scoring a double century for the team. This opener, who was left out of the national team, broke the record set by middle order batsman Rakibul Hassan 16 years ago by batting for 660 minutes.

Michael Fried

Hello there, I'm Michael Fried, and I'm a news author at TheTopDailyNews. I've been covering a wide range of topics for years, from politics and finance to technology and human interest stories.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

27 − = 26